• More Tones for
    more Music

The system that gives you the musical scope


nimbu is a sequencer that is played like an arranger. Chord recognition, chord resolution and sequence control are done in real time. Your played chords are translated into chord scales. This is the lever to raise the supply of tones and also to play the characteristic tension tones of an accompaniment.

    Supply of Tones     =      Chord Scale    =     Chord Tones    +    Tension Tones

Using the (full supply of) tones of the chord scales, nimbu calculates title-related accompaniments from MIDI files. If you play these accompaniments with the original chords (i.e. with the same harmony progression as in the MIDI file), they are hardly distinguishable from the MIDI file. Of course you can also play these accompaniments with other chords. The details are described in More Tones, More Music.

In addition, you play accompaniment rhythms (styles) that were developed for keyboards. And if you want, you can edit your accompaniments at any level. As with a sequencer, the supply of tones is unlimited. The only difference is that in the accompanying instruments that you play with your left hand, the tones are notated in scale steps. These scale steps are only resolved into tangible scale tones when you play your chords (via the assigned chord scales). This is how you make music without limits.

nimbu offers you two integrated sound modules as well as comprehensive functions and interfaces for building a complete arranger workstation. Whether virtual instruments or sound module, whether tablet or MIDI pad, the configuration and design of the system is very flexible. You can find the requirements here.


Here now follows a technical description. If you are already playing with an arranger or an auto accompaniment, you will know a lot of things. But remember that you will play with a larger supply of tones. The categories bass or chord 1 to chord 8 differ in their transposition from the usual bass, chord 1 and 2, pads and phrase 1 and 2.
If you have not yet played with auto accompaniment or arranger, the following description will be less suitable for you. In this case we would like to refer you to our videos or to the detailed documentation in nimbu, which will introduce you to the instrument step by step. This is much more fun and relatively easy.

Since nimbu transposes chord scales, the supply of tones is in no way limited. Transposable accompaniments for the auto accompaniment are created from MIDI tracks. The accompaniments of the auto accompaniment can be recorded in tracks while playing, in order to save them as MIDI files. In nimbu, the time signature can change from bar to bar within an accompaniment, so there are no restrictions in the time level. Fill-ins with several bars are also supported.

The music in nimbu is stored either in the form of notes in the tracks or in the form of scale steps in the instruments. The instruments form your accompaniment, which you play with your left hand. Both the tracks and the instruments are divided into the categories Drum 1, Drum 2, Bass, Chord 1 to Chord 8. For the melody voices, the categories Melody 1 and Melody 2 are also available in the tracks. In nimbu, notes and scale levels are time-controlled events.

Each category from drum 1 to melody 2 is assigned a corresponding instrument sound, which can be changed spontaneously while playing.

In addition, tempo changes, changes in time signature, chords and other controls, so-called control changes and markers in the Event Track category. For temporal and velocity dynamic accentuations, the Groove Design and the Velocity Design as a category is available. The lyrics can be found in the Lyric Track. All instruments and tracks are stored in a session file.

 Instruments   Event Type   Tracks  Event Type 
 Drum 1  Drum  Drum 1  Notes
 Drum 2  Drum  Drum 2  Notes
 Bass  Scale Steps   Bass  Notes
 Chord 1  Scale Steps   Chord 1  Notes
 .....  .....  .....  .....
 Chord 8  Scale Steps   Chord 8  Notes
 Melo 1  Notes
 Melo 2  Notes
 Event  Track  Chords +  Controls 
 Velocity   Design   Dynamic   Progression
 Groove  Design  Micro Timing  Progression
 Lyrics  Text

Instruments, Tracks, Categories and Event Types

You can edit all events in many ways like in a word processing program. So are Undo/Redo functions and the indexing of entire event areas as a matter of course. When playing, the different events are processed in real time. The graphical display of the playing of all events also takes place in real time, so that you can track your song on every level. This means that the chronological progression of melody, harmony, accompaniment as well as the controls during playing is displayed in all windows continuously and synchronously.

Features and Design
The nimbu instruments include the accompaniment, which is notated in scale steps. Their actual pitches are determined by the chords you play. More precisely, by the chord scales that are assigned to the played chords. Of course, this does not apply to Drum 1 and Drum 2, whose events notes are directly assigned to the percussion instruments.

DOn the other hand, the events of the tracks are fixed in terms of their information or their pitch while playing. The tracks are played like a tape. They contain notes and chords on the one hand, and information for flow control on the other.

The following figure illustrates the principle design. The nimbu tracks with the notes are not shown here, because they are primarily used for importing and exporting MIDI files, for recording from the keyboard or for playing and demonstrating functions. Here we deal with the actual playing.

Desing of nimbu
Basic design of nimbu


The nimbu instruments are transposed with the corresponding chord or scale preset. When playing, the chord presetting comes from the keyboard. The assignments of the chord scales to the played chords are defined separately for each of the 24 nimbu sections (in case of deviations from the standard scales). When importing MIDI files or styles, this assignment is done automatically.

The session is controlled via keyboard, touch screen or MIDI controllers or MIDI pads directly at the keyboard as well as via the internal EventTrack. The order of the played sections results from the sequence definition and the direct control at the keyboard.

Markers such as intro, main, etc. are jumped directly across the boundaries of a accompaniment, whereby the instrument setup is adopted "on the fly". nimbu also allows multiple time signatures and fill-ins with multiple bars within one accompaniment.

In addition, nimbu also knows so-called NoMarkers, in order to be able to close off certain marker areas in accompaniments derived from MIDI files. The marker areas in nimbu therefore do not have to be lined up in a row (as is the case with styles).

With the groove and velocity design, further temporal and dynamic accent flow into the session.

nimbu for Newcomers
To practise, you let nimbu play certain categories and call up specific windows that support you in practising. nimbu shows you every level of your music in real time. This is an advantage when the accompaniment is calculated from a MIDI file. However, this information can also be specified by you for a style. Here are a few examples:

  • If you only want to practice the melody at first, let nimbu play the chords from the event track. nimbu will show you the melody keys to be played while practicing.
  • Wenn Sie nur das Harmoniespiel üben wollen, können Sie Nimbu die Melodie aus der Melodiespur spielen lassen. Auch hier zeigt Ihnen nimbu beim Üben die zu spielenden Akkordtasten.
  • nimbu shows you the keys and chords to be played in real time. nimbu even draws your played note events below the note events of the melody to be played, so you can compare your played notes directly with the notes of the melody. While playing, you can see very clearly where your notes are playing too early or too late. You can also view these recordings after playing.
  • Even when improvising, you can see in real time the respective tone supply that is musically available to you.
You can find further details under Keyboard Learning made easy.

nimbu at a glance
For a functional overview of the 3 nimbu editions with corresponding maximum values click here.

Graphical User Interface
If you want to get a first impression of the graphical user interface, then you should read on here.


nimbu - because cool accompaniments play more tones.   Here is our offer.


 "YAMAHA" is Registered Trademark of Yamaha Corporation

• Musikalität mit
    vollem Tonvorrat

Das System, das Deiner Kreativität den musikalischen Spielraum gibt


nimbu ist ein Sequenzer, der wie eine Begleitautomatik gespielt wird. Ablaufsteuerung, Akkorderkennung und Akkordauflösung erfolgen in Echtzeit, wobei die gespielten Akkorde in Akkordskalen übersetzt werden, um auch die Spannungstöne zu spielen.

Mit dem vollen Tonvorrat der Skalen errechnet nimbu aus MIDI Files originalgetreue Begleitungen. Wenn Du diese Begleitungen mit den originalen Akkorden (d.h. mit demselben Harmonieverlauf wie im MIDI File) spielst, sind sie vom MIDI File nicht zu unterscheiden. Selbstverständlich kannst Du diese Begleitungen auch mit anderen Akkorden spielen. Darüber hinaus importiert nimbu Begleitrhythmen (sog. Styles und Patterns), die für Keyboards entwickelt wurden.

Wenn Du willst, kannst Du Deine Musik auf jeder Ebene interaktiv bearbeiten. Der Tonvorrat ist wie bei einem Sequenzer unbeschränkt. Nur mit dem Unterschied, dass in den Begleitinstrumenten, die Du mit der linken Hand spielst, die Töne in Skalenstufen notiert werden. Diese Skalenstufen werden erst beim Spielen Deiner Akkorde (über die zugeordneten Akkordskalen) in konkrete Skalentöne aufgelöst.

So spielst Du mit nimbu den authentischen Rhythmus, 5- bis 7-stimmige Akkorde, die Bassläufe, Arpeggios, Neben- und Gegenmelodien etc. Dein Spielen erfasst auch die charakteristischen Spannungstöne. Du reharmonisierst mit Deinen 3- bis 4-stimmigen Akkorden die gesamte Begleitung, die Du jederzeit auf Akkordtöne reduzieren kannst. Deine faszinierende Spieltechnik basiert auf dieser Harmonik der Akkordskalen.

nimbu bietet Dir umfassende Funktionen und Schnittstellen für den Aufbau einer kompletten Arranger Workstation. Ob MIDI Expander oder Soundkarte, ob Tablet oder MIDI Pad, die Konfiguration und Ausgestaltung des Systems ist sehr flexibel. Du kannst sogar mit wenig Geld ein komplettes Instrument selbst bauen. Ausgestattet mit Alleinstellungsmerkmalen, die auf dem Markt nicht zu haben sind.


Hier folgt jetzt eine technische Beschreibung. Falls Du bereits mit einem Arranger bzw. einer Begleitautomatik spielst, wird Dir vieles bekannt sein. Bedenke aber, dass Du mit größerem Tonvorrat spielst. Die Kategorien Bass bzw. Chord 1 bis Chord 8 unterscheiden sich in ihrer Transponierung von den sonst üblichen Bass, Chord 1 und 2, Pads und Phrase 1 und 2.
Falls Du noch nicht mit Begleitautomatik oder Arranger gespielt hast, wird die folgende Beschreibung für Dich weniger geeignet sein. In dem Fall möchten wir auf unsere Videos oder auf die ausführliche Dokumentation in nimbu verweisen, die Dich am Instrument Schritt für Schritt in die Thematik einführt. Das bringt viel mehr Spaß und ist relativ einfach.

Da nimbu Akkordskalen transponiert, ist der Tonvorrat in keinster Weise beschränkt. Aus den Tracks entstehen transponierbare Begleitungen der Begleitautomatik. Die Begleitungen der Begleitautomatik können ihrerseits beim Spielen in Tracks aufgezeichnet werden, um diese danach als MIDI File abzuspeichern. Die Taktart kann in nimbu innerhalb einer Begleitung wechseln, so dass auch in der zeitlichen Ebene keine Beschränkungen vorliegen. Zudem werden Fill Ins mit mehreren Takten unterstützt.

Die Musik in nimbu wird entweder in Form von Noten in den Tracks oder in Form von Skalenstufen in den Instrumenten gespeichert. Die Instrumente bilden Deine Begleitung, die Du mit der linken Hand spielst. Sowohl die Tracks als auch die Instrumente sind in die Kategorien Drum 1, Drum 2, Bass, Chord 1 bis Chord 8 unterteilt. Für die Melodiestimmen stehen bei den Tracks zudem noch die Kategorien Melodie 1 und Melodie 2 zur Verfügung. Noten und Skalenstufen sind in nimbu zeitgesteuerte Ereignisse, sog. Events.

Jeder Kategorie von Drum 1 bis Melodie 2 wird ein entsprechender Instrumenten Klang zugeordnet, der beim Spielen spontan geändert werden kann.

Darüber hinaus werden Tempoänderungen, Wechsel der Taktart, die Akkorde und weitere Steuerungen, sog. Control Changes und Marker in der Kategorie Event Track gespeichert. Für zeitliche und anschlagsdynamische Akzentuierungen stehen das Timing Design und die Dynamik Design als Kategorie zur Verfügung. Der Liedtext befindet sich in der Lyric Track. Sämtliche Instrumente und Tracks werden in einem Session File abgespeichert.

Instrumente Eventtyp Tracks Eventtyp
Drum 1 Drum Drum 1 Noten
Drum 2 Drum Drum 2 Noten
Bass Skalenstufen Bass Noten
Chord 1 Skalenstufen Chord 1 Noten
..... ..... ..... .....
Chord 8 Skalenstufen Chord 8 Noten
Melo 1 Noten
Melo 2 Noten
Event Track Akkorde + Steuerungen
Dynamik Design Dynamik Verlauf
Timing Design Timing Verlauf
Lyrics Text

Instrumente, Tracks, Kategorien und Eventtypen

Du kannst alle Events auf vielfältige Art und Weise wie in einem Textverarbeitungsprogramm editieren. So sind Undo/Redo Funktionen und das Indizieren ganzer Event Bereiche selbstverständlich. Beim Spielen werden die unterschiedlichen Events in Echtzeit verarbeitet. Die graphische Darstellung des Spielens aller Events erfolgt dabei ebenfalls in Echtzeit, so dass Du Deinen Song auf jeder Ebene verfolgen kannst. D.h. der zeitliche Verlauf von Melodie, Harmonie, Begleitung sowie der Steuerungen beim Spielen wird in allen Fenstern kontinuierlich und synchron dargestellt.

Funktion und Aufbau
Die nimbu Instrumente beinhalten die Begleitung, die in Skalenstufen notiert ist. Ihre tatsächlichen Tonhöhen ergeben sich erst aus den Akkorden, die Du links auf Deinem Keyboard spielst. Genauer gesagt aus den Akkordskalen, die Deinen gespielten Akkorden zugeordnet werden. Das gilt natürlich nicht für die Schlagzeuge Drum 1 und Drum 2, deren Events direkt den Schlaginstrumenten zugeordnet werden.

Dagegen sind die Events der Tracks in Bezug auf ihre Information bzw. Ihre Tonhöhe beim Spielen fixiert. Die Tracks werden wie ein Tonband abgespielt. Sie beherbergen zum einen Noten und Akkorde, zum anderen Informationen für die Ablaufsteuerung.

Das folgende Bild veranschaulicht die prinzipielle Struktur. Die nimbu Tracks mit den Noten werden hier nicht dargestellt, da sie primär für den Import und den Export von MIDI Files bzw. zur Aufnahme vom Keyboard oder für Vorspiel- und Vorführfunktionen herangezogen werden. Hier befassen wir uns mit dem eigentlichen Spielen.

Struktur von nimbu
Prinzipielle Funktion von nimbu


Die nimbu Instrumente werden mit der entsprechenden Akkord- bzw. Skalenvorgabe transponiert. Beim Spielen kommt die Akkordvorgabe vom Keyboard. Die Zuordnungen der Akkordskalen zu den gespielten Akkorden werden (bei Abweichungen von den Standardskalen) für jeden der 24 nimbu Abschnitte getrennt festgelegt. Beim Import von MIDI Files oder Styles erfolgt diese Zuordnung automatisch.

Die Steuerung der Session geschieht sowohl über das Keyboard, einen Touch Screen oder MIDI Controllern bzw. MIDI Pads direkt am Keyboard als auch über die EventTrack. Die Reihenfolge der gespielten Abschnitte ergibt sich aus der Sequenzdefinition und der direkten Steuerung am Keyboard.

Marker wie Intro, Main etc. werden über die Grenzen der Musiktitel hinweg direkt angesprungen, wobei das Instrumenten Setup "on the fly" übernommen wird. nimbu lässt innerhalb einer Begleitung auch mehrere Taktarten und Fill Ins mit mehreren Takten zu.

Des Weiteren kennt nimbu auch sog. NoMarker, um in Begleitungen, die aus MIDI Files abgleitet wurden, bestimmte Markerbereiche abschließen zu können. Die Markerbereiche müssen daher in nimbu nicht (wie bei den Styles) aneinandergereiht sein.

Mit dem Timing- und Dynamik-Design fließen weitergehende zeitliche und dynamische Akzentuierungen in die Session ein.

nimbu als Coach
Willst Du zunächst nur die Melodie einüben, lässt Du nimbu die Akkorde aus der Event Track spielen. nimbu zeigt Dir beim Einüben die zu spielenden Melodienoten.
Willst Du dagegen nur das Spielen der Harmonie einüben, lässt Du nimbu die Melodie der Melodie Track spielen. Auch hier zeigt Dir nimbu beim Einüben die zu spielenden Akkorde.

nimbu zeigt Dir die zu spielenden Tasten und Akkorde in Echtzeit. nimbu zeichnet sogar Deine gespielten Noten unter die Noten Deines Musiktitels, so dass Du Deine gespielten Noten direkt mit den Noten Deines Musiktitels vergleichen kannst. Du siehst beim Spielen sehr genau, wo Deine Einsätze zu früh oder zu spät erfolgen. Du kannst Dir diese Aufzeichnungen auch nach dem Spielen ansehen.

nimbu im Überblick
Hier geht es zu einer Übersicht der 3 Editionen mit entsprechenden Maximalwerten.


Graphische Oberfläche
Wenn Du einen ersten Eindruck zur graphischen Oberfläche erhalten möchtest, dann solltest Du hier weiterlesen.

 "YAMAHA" ist Registered Trademark der Yamaha Corporation